Tonight I participated in the first of an 8 week course on grassroots organizing through the Mid-South Peace and Justice Center.

I’m not really “political” by nature. I’m really a “science person”. I like well tested evidence and facts. I only came to hold the liberal views I do by becoming curious about stuff like the gini coefficient and trying to debunk ideas about the social determinants of health in google scholar on my own.

As a child and teen, I attended ECS (Evangelical Christian School). There, a relentless devotion to truth was instilled in me which, ironically, served only to lead me away from the rightwing Christian perspective of “reality” as I matured.

I’ll never forget being 11 and being told that yes, the Earth is around 6,000 years old. I enquired about the fossil record and was told it was all the work of Satan. I enquired about the fact that the light we see from stars is light that must have been sent out millions or billions of years ago, and the response was that God himself “created the universe with age”. Ok. So Satan was handed the biology and God took on the deceptive astrophysics? Ooookaaay.

I switched denominations a lot in my late teens and early 20’s trying to find a theology that was internally consistent. I eventually began to wonder if maybe I was just brainwashed.  After becoming a parent, the gravity of the situation hit me, and I decided it was my Christian duty as a seeker of truth to start from scratch as an atheist. And here, as an atheist, I still am. I really, honestly hope to someday have reason to view things differently eventually.

 

______________________

I’m a married white chick with kids living in inner city Memphis. The gang issue and the infant mortality issue keeps me up at night. In some ways, I’m in a great spot to help. In other ways, I’m totally the wrong person. I guess in the end, I’ll just try as hard as I can and do what I can.

I just want to be able to die knowing I contributed to making the world (or Memphis, specifically) a better place for my own kids, and all citizens of Earth. We’re all in this together. I’m just wanting to do what I can, when I can.

