In the wake of 1) an oppressive abomination of healthcare “reform”, and 2) nothing positive coming from the dems otherwise, the mood among the swing and leftist voters was grim, and they stayed home.

The concensus was very Arnaud Amalric:

“Kill them all and let God sort them out.”

The interesting question is if the present soup of politicians will repeal the mandate.

The insurance industry has an opinion:

Even insurers, which were vilified by Democrats in passing the reforms, said they don’t want a repeal, even as they push for clarity on forthcoming rules and seek additional changes.

Cigna Corp CEO David Cordani and Aetna Inc President Mark Bertolini both urged the nation to move forward on the overhaul.

 

I feel like an ass, because I knew from the beginning that Obama was courting the insurance industry (and pharma) . I assumed he was going to do the right thing in the end, and I guess I was wrong. I knew the insurance industry willingly accepted their role as “bad guys” and pretended to protest reform, and then massively spiked thier rates in several stated to get the bill passed.

Read this. Please. Please.

http://covertrationingblog.com/weird-fact-about-insurance-companies/how-the-health-insurance-industry-saved-obamacare

I think he’s right, and I don’t care that the author is a rightwinger. EVERYTHING playing out now fits his hypothesis perfectly.

If the Republicans manage to repeal the mandate in spite of the corporate interests, I’ll shit a brick. Furthermore, I’ll re-think which party is comprised of more corporate whores. If the Dems turn out to be more anti-working class, more pro-corporate than the Repubs, then…well, I don’t know what to think. I don’t know. I just don’t know.

But I doubt they will make a serious effort to do so.